Critics Choice Awards: Wins for Will Smith, The Power of the Dog, Succession, Squid Game and Ted Lasso

Virgin Radio

14 Mar 2022, 09:50

Credit: Getty

Credit: Getty

The 27th Critics' Choice Awards took place yesterday in Los Angeles, celebrating the best in film and TV from the past year. Here’s what went down and who walked away victorious.

The ceremony, which was hosted by Taye Diggs and Nicole Byer, saw Will Smith take home the Best Actor prize for his performance in King Richard, in which he portrays the father of tennis stars Venus and Serena Williams. 

In his speech, he hailed the sisters, saying. “I am here tonight with Venus and Serena and their sister Isha. And I really just want to say to all of you, thank you for entrusting me with your story.”

He added: “What you were able to do, and what your family was able to do, inspired everyone in this room, everyone in this country and everyone around the world. You all define the American Dream. 

“You represent the best of what we all hope this world and this country can be.”

In other film categories, The Power of the Dog took out four awards: Best Feature, Adapted Screenplay, and Best Cinematography, with Jane Campion winning the Best Director trophy. 

Jessica Chastain won best actress for The Eyes of Tammy Faye, Troy Kotsur was awarded best supporting actor for CODA, while Ariana DeBose won the female equivalent for West Side Story.

Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast won Best Acting Ensemble and Best Original Screenplay, while Licorice Pizza won Best Comedy.

Billie Eilish won Best Song with No Time to Die, and Hans Zimmer won Best Score for Dune 

In the television categories, Succession, Squid Game and Ted Lasso all won big. The former won Best Drama Series, with Kieran Culkin given the nod for Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series and Sarah Snook getting Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series. 

Meanwhile, Lee Jung-jae, who played the series’ main character Seong Gi-hun in Squid Game, won Best Actor In A Drama Series ahead of Succession’s Brian Cox and Jeremy Strong. Squid Game won the gong for Best Foreign Language Series.

Ted Lasso picked up four awards, including Best Comedy Series and Best Actor in a Comedy Series for Jason Sudeikis. Hannah Waddingham and Brett Goldstein picked up the respective TV awards for Supporting Actress and Actor.

Mare of Easttown won Best Limited Series, with Kate Winslet winning Best Actress in that category.